Gallery

Chocolate Chunk Cookie Tangent.

I already covered Migoya’s cookies, which were very good — soft on the inside, crisp on the outside, like a French baguette.

When I was in Toronto in November, I was sucked in to William-Sonoma, which we don’t have where I live, I’m sure that’s for the best.  I had heard very positive reviews online about Thomas Kellar’s line of Bouchon Gluten-free products.  They sell regular mixes as well as the gluten-free variety which is made with their Cup-4-Cup flour.  While tasting the Ad Hoc chocolate frosting was tempting ($29 for enough to frost one 9” cake, Yowza)

I bought the cookie mix instead ($29 for twelve cookies and I supply the butter and egg — at least it came with Callebaut chocolate).

I’ve been staring at the box, wondering how they would taste, waiting for the perfect time to make them.  I had a week off between xmas and new years, and I needed a serious break, so I promised myself I would not make anything for a week.  My therapist’s response to this was: Why would you do that to yourself? Um, is she enabling me? Anyway, not baking was difficult but I had the entire Six Feet Under series to keep me preoccupied.  This is the first time in at least 3 years I’ve gone more than 3 days without baking.  It’s also been the first time in 9 years I have had vacation time and not gone anywhere.  Sitting around, “relaxing” is not my strong suit, but apparently when I’m bound and determined, I can squeeze 56 hours of quality HBO programming into one week of gymming and socializing.

Anyway, I made these as a baby step back into, you know, the thing that encompasses my life.

This is what I saw when I opened the box:

This is about as unromantic as homemade cookies can get.  I should have looked in the box when I got it, so I could have known if I payed for chocolate that had already melted down and regenerated into a bag of bloomy crumble. It’s winter, a warm one yes, but I didn’t store the cookie mix on my heater.  Disappointment #1.

I chopped up some 55% chocolate and used that instead, I wanted Chocolate Chunk cookies, not Chocolate Crumbs and Flecks cookies.

I looked at the ingredients.  They used soybean oil to keep the sugar soft.

The flour mix contains: Rice flour, brown rice flour, potato starch, potato flour, tapioca starch, milk powder, vanilla powder, baking soda.

The addition of the milk powder really brings out the buttery flavour of the dough, and helps to add moisture. However… my palate is not particularly fabu, but I do tend to be overly sensitive to some ingredients, the two big ones are baking powder and milk powder (because of this sensitivity, I do not understand why people love Crack Pie; tastes like Milk Powder Pie to me). I found these cookies were gross raw (not something I look for in a cookie) and baked had a very subtle aftertaste due to the inclusion of milk powder. However, the more cookies I consumed, the less I noticed the off taste.

The first time I baked them, they did not look like the box photo:

The instructions indicate to chill for 30 minutes, which I did. But when I chilled them for 5 days (since my disappointment lead me to wrap the dough I didn’t bake and throw them into the pastry cemetery that is my fridge), they came out like this:

I prefer the latter.

My first reaction was that they weren’t bad.  I didn’t care for how sweet they were, but the fact that the chocolate it came with was a combo of 55% and 70% would have balanced the sweetness out a bit. The texture was nice.  Not grainy, not starchy. And the guests I had that prompted me to bake the last of the dough couldn’t tell they were gluten-free.

Yes, these were very good. However, they cost about $2.80 each (not including the cost of replacing the useless chocolate) to make, which is crazy expensive. But I don’t blame Thomas Kellar for that.

Leave a Reply

